Make your notebook a Wi-Fi Hotspot in few simple steps


I was whiling away my time listening to one song over and over again when a dear friend of mine asked me a question to which i didnt know the answer. That instant i dropped everything (not literally) and made my awesome ASUS machine a WiFi Hotspot.Connectify

This is how i did it.

  • I first downloaded Connectify and of course chose the Lite version, but you can always pick the Pro one as well.
  • Next I installed it
  • It asked for a reboot
  • I did a reboot
  • Connectify asked me to put in a Hotspot Name, so i let the program deal with it… As you can see in the Screenshot (Yes that is my desktop screenshot) it stated Connectify-me… i let that stay
  • The next line asked me for a password and i chose an all numeric code which basically means 0-9 numbers.
  • The other things were already pre-selected so i let it all be.
  • Then i hit the Start Hotspot button. I know it says on the screenshot that “stop hotspot’ but that came after starting it.
  • I next scanned my smartphone’s Wi-Fi and it showed me “connectify-me” connection.
  • I tapped it and entered the password which i had previously entered into the software….
  • I double checked the browsing on my phone and saw it was giving an amazing connection speed and quick browsing as well.
Hope these steps help you out.
Now things to remember are, I use a laptop, Windows 7… and my phone is Galaxy S II (Android – Gingerbread). Good Luck!

What do you think?

